Name of Institution

University Of Cape Coast (UCC)

  • Type
  • School Category
    Public University
  • Location
    Cape Coast, Ghana
  • Date Founded
    October, 1962
  • Motto
    Veritas Nobis Lumen
  • Acceptance Rate
  • Gender
  • Accomodation
    Campus Accomodation
Courses / Programes

University of Cape Coast Faculties And Colleges

Here is a list of all nine (9) main faculties and five (5) colleges in total at the University of Cape Coast

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Social Science
  • School of business
  • Faculty of Law
  • School of Agriculture
  • School of Biological Science
  • School of Physical Science
  • School of Medical Science
  • School of Nursing & Midwifery
  • School of Allied Health Science
  • College of Education Studies and College of Distance Education.



  • School of Physical Science
  • Bachelor of Laboratory Technology
  • Bachelor of Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Water and Sanitation
  • Bachelor of Industrial Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Mathematics
  • Bachelor of Statistics
  • Bachelor of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Bachelor of Mathematics and Economics
  • Bachelor of Mathematics and Business
  • Bachelor of Actuarial Science
  • Bachelor of Physics
  • Bachelor of Engineering Physics
  • Bachelor of Information Technology

Bachelor of Meteorology and Atmosphere Physics


  • Bachelor of Agriculture
  • Bachelor of Agricultural Extension & Community Development
  • Bachelor of Agriculture-Processing
  • Bachelor of Agri-Business
  • Bachelor of Animal Production, Post-Diploma
  • Bachelor of Agricultural Extension, Post-Diploma
  • School of Biological Science
  • Bachelor of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Fisheries and Aquatic Science
  • Bachelor of Conservation Biology and Entomology
  • Bachelor of Environmental Science
  • Bachelor of Forensic Science


  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Bachelor of Nursing
  • Bachelor of Health Nursing
  • Bachelor of Community Mental Health Nursing
  • School of Allied Health Sciences
  • School of Allied Health Science
  • Bachelor of Biomedical Science
  • Bachelor of Optometry
  • Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Technology
  • Bachelor of Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Bachelor of Physician Assistant Studies
  • Bachelor of Diagnostic Imaging Technology
  • Bachelor of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
  • Bachelor of Health Information Management
  • Bachelor of Sports and Exercise Science
  • School of Medical Sciences
  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MB, Ch. B)


  • Bachelor of Commerce Marketing
  • Bachelor of Commerce Management
  • Bachelor of Commerce Procurement & Supply Chain Management
  • Bachelor of Commerce Finance
  • Bachelor of Commerce Accounting
  • Bachelor of Commerce Human Resource Management


Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences Education

  • B. Ed. Arts
  • B. Ed. Social Science
  • B. Ed. Social Studies
  • B. Ed. Accounting
  • B. Ed. Management.

Faculty of Science and Technology Education

  • B.Ed Mathematics
  • B.Ed Science
  • B.Ed Health, Physical Education and Recreation
  • B.Ed. Computer Science
  • B.Ed. Health Sciences Education
  • B.Ed. Home Economics
  • B.Ed. Communication Design
  • BFA.Ed. Fine Art Education: -Painting and Sculpture

Faculty of Educational Foundations

  • B.Sc Psychology
  • B.Ed. Primary Education
  • B.Ed. Junior High School Education
  • B.Ed. Early Childhood Education


  • B.Sc Geography and Regional Planning
  • B.Sc. Hospitality Management
  • B.A. Anthropology
  • B.Sc. Tourism Management
  • B.A. Population & Health
  • B.A. Social Sciences


  • B.A. Arts
  • B.A. Linguistics
  • B.A. Communication Studies
  • B.A. Dance
  • B.A. Film Studies
  • B.A Music
  • B.A. Theatre Studies
  • B.A. African Studies

The University of Cape Coast is one of the top-ranked universities in Ghana located in Cape Coast. The university has two major campuses, namely the old site (the Northern Campus) and the new site (the Southern Campus).

Established in October 1962, the university was tasked with the main aim of training graduates for numerous educational institutions across the country.

Although the university could not award graduate degrees when it was founded, On October 1, 1971, it became an authority on its own and now it offers other programs apart from education, such as psychology, agricultural science, medicine, agricultural science, law, and a lot more.


Phone Contact

+233 33 213 2440

Email Address

Brief History

The University of Cape Coast was set up in October 1962, and in 1963, when the university opened for admission, it ended up admitting only 155 students with just two departments: Arts and Science. Its student population is about 80,000 now and is projected to increase significantly.

When the university started expanding due to increased population, there was a need for the departments to be upgraded to faculties, which resulted in the creation of faculties such as economics, Education, and Social Science in 1964.

The College attained a full and independent university on October 1, 1971, and was allowed to grant its degrees, diplomas, and certificates.

Years after, There was the creation of faculties and departments such as;

  • Agriculture
  • Physical science
  • Biological science
  • School of business
  • Medical school
  • Faculty of Law.


Social Networks
Other Locations
  • Takoradi Office (Ntankorful) - Takoradi ( Western Region)
  • Tarkwa (Fiaseman SHS) - Tarkwa(Western Region)
  • Nsein SHS - Nsein (Western Region)
  • Enchi College of Education - Enchi (Western Region)
  • Bibiani Sec Tech - Bibiani (Western North Region)
  • Sefwi Dabiso College of Education - Sefwi Dabiso (Western North Region)
  • Juaboso SHS - Juaboso (Western North Region)
  • Sefwi Wiawso College of Education - Sefwi Wiawso (Western North Region)
  • Bompeh SHS - Bompeh (Western Region)
  • St. John’s SHS - Achimota (Greater Accra Region)
  • Holy Child College of Education - Takoradi ( Western Region)
  • Comments are closed.
  • You May Also Be Interested In