The 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

The number of regions in Ghana has evolved over the years and the recent among them is the change in the number of regions from 10 to 16 in 2019.

The President, H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo promised Ghanaians before the 2016 elections to add additional regions to increase decentralization and development in general.

Additional 6 districts were to be carved out of existing :

  1. Northern Region
  2. Volta Region
  3. Western Region
  4. Brong Ahafo Region

After the Referendum was held, the proposed increase took effect on February 12, 2019

16 Regions In Ghana With their Capital

Below is the list of all the 16 regions and their capitals beginning with the country’s capital and industrial city.

1. Greater Accra Region

Capital : Accra

Accra doubles as the Capital of Ghana and the Greater Accra Region as well. The region is home to the Ga’s, ranking highest in terms of urbanization compared to the other regions in Ghana.The region is the economic heartbeat of Ghana.

2.Volta Region

Capital: Ho

The dominant inhabitants of the Volta Region are Ewes, with Guans and Akans also In the region as well. Ho is the regional Capital. The Volta region is noted for its rich culture and beautiful tourist sites such as Mountain Afajato, Wli Waterfalls and Tafi Atome Monkey.

3. Eastern Region

Capital: Koforidua

The Eastern region is Akan dominated where you have the Kwahus, Akyems and Akuapems although there are other minor Ethnic group settlers among them. With Koforidua being it’s capital the Eastern region is home to the Akosombo dam, which provides most of Ghana’s Electricity.

4. Ashanti Region

Capital: Kumasi

The Capital of the Ashanti Region is Kumasi and people who hail from the Ashanti Region are Asantis. Population wise the region has the highest compared to the rest of the regions in Ghana. The region is popular for its Gold bar and Cocoa Production.

5. Bono Region

Capital: Sunyani

In Ghana, you cannot talk about large scale Cocoa production and Farming without mentioning the Bono Region. The region is also Akan dominated and is home to popular tourist sites such as the Kintampo Water falls, Boabeng Fiama Monkey Santuary and Bui National park. Sunyani is the capital of the Bono Region.

6. Northern Region

Capital: Tamale

The Capital of the Northern Region is Tamale. Two of the newly created Regions, that is Savannah and North East Regions were created from the Northern Region.

7. Upper East Region

Capital: Bolgatanga

Located in the Northern part of Ghana, the Upper East Region shares border with Burkina Faso to the North. Bolgatanga is the Capital where most of their Economic activities take place. Some of the popular tourist sites in the region are Paga Crocodile Pond and Bolgatanga Craft Village.

8. Upper West Region

Capital: Wa

The capital of the Upper West Region is Wa. Agriculture is the major economic activity in the Region with most of inhabitants engaging in crop farming and rearing of animals to make ends meet.

9. Western North Region

Capital: Sefwi Wiawso

The Sefwis are the dominant inhabitants of the Western North region and Sefwi Wiaswso is the the regional capital. It is also part of the newly created regions and was created from of the Western Region.

10. Oti Region

Capital: Dambai

Oti Region is also one of the newly created regions and was carved out of the Volta Region. The Oti Region shares borders on the north with the Northern Region, to the south by the Volta Region, and to the west by the Volta Lake with its capital being Dambai.

11. Savannah Region

Capital: Damongo

The Savanna Region happens to be the largest and also among the newly formed regions in Ghana. It is also one of the agricultural inclined regions serving Ghana as one of the main supplier of grains and Tubers. The capital of the Savannah region is Damango.

12. Bono Region

Capital: Sunyani

The Capital of the Bono Region is Sunyani and it’s know for its rich forest.It is bordered on the west by Côte d’Ivoire and produces Cash crops such as cashew and timber.

13. Ahafo Region

Capital: Goaso

The Ahafo region is popularly referred to as the bread basket of the country with rich natural resource such as GoldDiamondsTimber where you have some of the top ten mining companies in Ghana and vast forest reserves for timber production. The capital of Ahafo region is Goaso.

14. Central Region

Capital: Cape Coast

The Central Regional Capital is Cape Coast. Fantis are the predominant ethnic group in this region and noted for its high profile Senior high Schools. Cape Coast Castle and Elmina Castle are some of the popular tourist sites in the region.

15. Western Region

Capital: Sekondi-Takoradi

The Western region is Akan dominated with the highest rainfall in Ghana with fertile Soils for Farming. Secondi – Takoradi is the Regional Capital.

16.Bono East Region

Capital : Techiman

The Bono East region was also formed from the brong Ahafo region and part of the New regions created by Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo. Techiman is the regional capital.

How The Increment Came About

On 27th December 2018 a referendum on creating new regions which was held in Ghana received 99% approval votes in all the 47 districts it was held.

With all the 16 regions, different ethnic groups and cultures, Ghana is a united and peaceful country.